Sarah Bethe Nelson - Mental | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Five Lovin' Days
2. Can't Catch a Break
3. Better Off Dead
4. Fake Fighting
5. Night Birds
6. Empty PiƱata
7. I Can Just Leave
8. Mental Picture

More Info:

Bay Area singer-songwriter Sarah Bethe Nelson's multiple albums of balladry and pop chart an emotional wave of the multifarious and sometimes tumultuous changes of the area's landscape. Her latest is no exception. Enter Mental Picture, a collection of aftershock spectral tunes ghosting in the aura of the recent age, spinning out from the contradictions of Nelson's steely reserve and melancholy fragility. If past efforts highlighted a certain zeal for the times, Mental Picture, while no less resolute in it's approbation of the charms of this particular wasteland, definitely adds the haunt of eyes that have seen a grimness and dared to wink back at it. Think later Townes Van Zandt self-deprecation jolted through the afterglow of Stoned And Dethroned horizon-watching.