Anna Hillburg - Tired Girls | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Anna Hillburg - Tired Girls
Tired Girls
Artist: Anna Hillburg
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 10/13/2023
UPC: 810096654366

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Track 1
2. Early Morning Dreams
3. Track 3
4. Holdin on
5. Track 5
6. Tired Girls
7. Track 7
8. Girl Girl Girl
9. Track 9
10. How Do You Make Believe
11. Track 11
12. It Certainly Feels/ Little Sister
13. Track 13
14. What to Do with the Lights Out
15. Track 15
16. I've Been Dreaming
17. Track 17
18. Happier Times

More Info:

Tired Girls is the third full-length studio album by Bay Area singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Anna Hillburg. Co-produced and recorded with Jason Quever of the Papercuts, the pair created an album for lovers of finely crafted and supremely catchy chamber pop. As always, Hillburg's voice takes center stage, but for Tired Girls she made a conscious choice to dig deeper into her trumpet skills and make more elaborate horn arrangements than her previous records. Lyrically, Hillburg dives into what it is to be a contemporary woman, and how one perseveres, finds inspiration, creates, loves, and lives. Recorded throughout 2022 at Quever's studio, the two built dreamy soundscapes with long-time collaborators Logan Kroeber on drums (The Dodos), Josh Miller on bass (Chime School, Extra Classic), and Yea Ming Chen on keys.The entire record has a real "Ladies, trust your gut" feeling, unsurprisingly, as Hillburg says she tends to write songs about "the reality of womanhood and feminism but ya know, why not make that a little 'dancey'?" As a collection, Tired Girls marks her arrival as an artist who has hit their stride. Each track shows her talent and progression as a songwriter and performer.As a multi-instrumentalist and classically trained trumpet player, Hillburg is a sought-after session and live musician in the vibrant Bay Area music scene, performing regularly with Shannon And The Clams, The Dodos, The Moore Brothers, The Once And Future Band, Will Sprott, Dream Date, Greg Ashley, Shannon Shaw and her All-Star Buddy Band, and more. After writing and recording with her first band, SF power-pop darlings Dream Date, Hillburg set off on her own to record and release her first album, the self-titled 2013 release, Anna Hillburg. Described as "a romantic mix of lounge-inspired rock and avant-folk melodies," here were the foundations of Hillburg's signature songwriting style, with elements of baroque pop, catchy hooks, trumpet lines, and whimsical humor that garnered the attention of critics and fans alike. Her second studio album, Really Real, came out in 2018, recorded with Greg Ashley (Gris Gris) and Alicia Vanden Heuvel (The Aislers Set), this pop gem gained even more praise, with writers saying "Hillburg's writing brings heartfelt lyrics to elegant pop."