The Ru-Jac Records Story - Something Got A Hold On Me: The Ru-Jac Records Story, Volume One: 1963-1964 | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Something Got A Hold On Me: The Ru-Jac Records Story, Volume One: 1963-1964
Something Got A Hold On Me: The Ru-Jac Records Story, Volume One: 1963-1964
Artist: The Ru-Jac Records Story
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 01/19/2018
UPC: 816651013128

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Fatback (Take 1)
2. Please Don't Go (with Kay Keys Band)
3. I Love You So (with Kay Keys Band)
4. A Woman Like You (with The Shyndells Band)
5. I'm Through With You (with The Shyndells Band)
6. Every Day I Have The Blues (Take 2)
7. Saving All My Loving
8. It's Everything To Me
9. I Want To Be Sure
10. You Won
11. Cross Track (Take 2)
12. When I'm Alone
13. Can't You See
14. Let's Go Back To School
15. That?s All You Have To Do
16. One Of These Mornings (Take 3)
17. Put A Light In The Window
18. My Father Watches Over Me
19. Take Care Of Me
20. Something Got A Hold On Me
21. All Over Again (feat. Marie Allen)
22. Crying Won't Help You (feat. Marie Allen)
23. Trash Can
24. Don't Bit Mo
25. Foolish To Try
26. Meadow Of Love
27. The Money Cha Cha
28. Joe (Take 5)

More Info:

THE BALTIMORE SOUL/R&B LABEL RU-JAC RECORDS WAS FOUNDED IN 1963 by local promoter Rufus Mitchell and investor partner Jack Bennett (their names forming the Ru-Jac name). The label primarily released regional soul/R&B singles from 1963 until the mid 1970s, when Mitchell stepped away to focus on another business venture. Omnivore has already released single-artist packages by some of the label’s biggest names, including Winfi eld Parker – Mr. Clean: Winfield Parker At Ru-Jac (Parker also serves as the consulting producer for all of Omnivore’s Ru-Jac releases) and Gene & Eddie – True Enough: Gene & Eddie With Sir Joe At Ru-Jac. In January, Omnivore will roll out two various artists volumes followed by two more in February, collecting for the very fi rst time anywhere the audio history of Ru-Jac Records. Each volume is produced by the Grammy® Award-winning producer Cheryl Pawelski and Kevin Coombe, East Coast soul historian. Coombe provides liner notes detailing the rise and eventual closure of the label, and its close ties to the segregated beaches and performance spaces of the region. Rare photos and ephemera will be included in each volume to help illustrate and trace the history of the label. Utilizing original tapes, extremely collectible 45s, and acetates, all four volumes underwent extensive restoration and mastering by Grammy® Award winning engineer, Michael Graves. Volume One, Something Got a Hold on Me: The Ru-Jac Records Story Volume One, 1963–1964 contains 28 tracks, 10 of them previously unissued. The other 18 tracks chart the history of the first 45s issued by the label and includes songs by Winfield Parker, Flattop Bobby & The Soul Twisters, and Brenda Jones among others.