Various Artists - Chip & Tony Kinman: Sounds Like Music | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Chip & Tony Kinman: Sounds Like Music
Artist: Various Artists
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 06/28/2019
UPC: 816651017621

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Real Style - By Blackbird
2. Folks Say Go - By the Dils
3. Me Too - By Blackbird
4. Liberation - By Blackbird
5. Jersey Girl - By Blackbird
6. Dope - By Blackbird
7. Rank and File (Alternate Version) - By Rank and File
8. Candy - By Blackbird
9. Amanda Ruth (Alternate Version) - By Rank and File 1
10. Lucky Day (Alternate Version) - By Rank and File 1
11. Paniolo (Alternate Version) - By Cowboy Nation 1
12. Citizen - By Rank and File 1
13. Revolution Is Rising - By Blackbird 1
14. Dream on - By Blackbird 1
15. Restless - By Rank and File 1
16. Landslide - By Rank and File 1
17. Old Paint - By Blackbird 1
18. Blue Hair - By Blackbird 1
19. Perfect Day - By Blackbird 2
20. She's Real Gone - By Blackbird 2
21. Rebel (Alternate Version) - By Cowboy Nation 2
22. All the Same - By Blackbird

More Info:

• 22 previously unissued tracks from L.A. legends. • Contains alternate versions of hits from Rank And File, Blackbird, and more. • New liner notes from Chip Kinman. Brothers Chip and Tony Kinman had fronted some of the most influential bands of the last quarter of the 20th century. Don’t believe us? After forming the seminal punk band, The Dils (and even scoring an appearance in Cheech & Chong’s Up In Smoke), the brothers became cow-punk pioneers with their next band, Rank And File (whose early line-up included Alejandro Escovedo). They took a more industrial turn with their next band, Blackbird, and returned to more traditional country with Cowboy Nation. For the first time, 22 previously unissued performances from all 4 bands are collected on Chip & Tony Kinman: Sounds Like Music. Selected by Chip, and taken from the brothers’ archives, these restored and remastered tracks trace their journey like no other collection has, or could. Featuring photos, ephemera, and new notes from Chip, it takes listeners from the D.I.Y. aesthetic of L.A. punk to cowboy songs that feel like they’ve been around forever. Speaking of liner notes, while you’re in reading mode, Chip will be featured in the new book by John Doe (X) with Tom DeSavia and Friends, More Fun In The New World: The Unmaking And Legacy Of L.A. Punk, coming June 4th. Sadly, Tony passed away in 2018, but Chip & Tony Kinman: Sounds Like Music solidifies the brothers’ legacy, adds to their already beloved body of work and is a fitting tribute to the music they made together.