Knights / Beethoven - Kreutzer Project | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store

More Info:

The Knights, the bold Brooklyn-based orchestral collective, embody the spirit of exploration with The Kreutzer Project, a program that posits Tolstoy's response to Beethoven's "Kreutzer" Sonata: What exactly is it? I don't understand. What is music? What does it do? And why does it do what it does? Beethoven and Tolstoy in turn inspired Czech composer Leos Janácek, whose first string quartet is also called "Kreutzer Sonata". The Knights' response to these iconoclastic touchstones is to reimagine the Beethoven as "Kreutzer Concerto", arranged by The Knights' co-founder Colin Jacobsen who is also the orchestrated version's violin soloist; and the Janácek as orchestrated by The Knights' co-founder and conductor Eric Jacobsen. They keep the canon going with Colin's newly-composed "Kreutzings", which makes buried allusions to both Beethoven and Janácek; and a commission from Anna Clyne, whose piece "Shorthand" takes it's title from a line in Tolstoy's novella: "music is the shorthand of emotion".