Benighted - Ekbom [Digipak] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Prodrome
2. Scars
3. Morgue
4. Le Vice Des Entrailles
5. Nothing Left to Fear
6. Ekbom
7. Metastasis
8. A Reason for Treason
9. Fame of the Grotesque
10. Scapegoat
11. Flesh Against Flesh
12. Mother Earth, Mother Whore

More Info:

Madness reigns again! 'Ekbom' gives a voice to the madness lurking within through Brutal Death Metal Music. As usual in Benighted, it's a concept-album written by vocalist Julien, who works as a nurse in a psychiatric hospital. It tells the story of a schizophrenic young woman with Ekbom Syndrome. The concept is explained in the track "Mother Earth, Mother Whore" with these words: - "Room 14, we have a 21-year-old woman, first hospitalization. She has no family; her mother raised her alone and died of cancer 4 years ago. She lived in foster care until she was 18. The onset of the disorders was brutal, she presents a psychotic crisis with a delirium about her body. She has visual hallucinations that evoke Ekbom's syndrome, she sees insects running on and under her skin. She tried to cut herself several times to get them out. She tells us that the enemy is inside, that it's always inside. Maybe she unconsciously refers to her mother's cancer, she cared for her until the end. She also talks about a dark man who is present in every room she enters. He stands still, looks at her, she doesn't describe him as a threat. He just smiles as soon as she starts cutting herself..."