Bessie Smith - Empress Of The Blues 1923-33 (Ofgv) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Bessie Smith - Empress Of The Blues 1923-33 (Ofgv)
Empress Of The Blues 1923-33 (Ofgv)
Artist: Bessie Smith
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 11/10/2023
UPC: 824046161422

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Down Hearted Blues
2. Gulf Coast Blues
3. Aggravatin' Papa
4. Baby Won't You Please Come Home
5. Ain't Nobody's Biz-Ness If I Do
6. Careless Love Blues
7. I Ain't Gonna Play No Second Fiddle
8. St Louis Blues
9. Lost Your Head Blues
10. After You've Gone
11. Empty Bed Blues PT 1
12. Nobody Knows When You're Down and Out
13. I Need a Little Sugar in My Bowl

More Info:

Bessie Smith, "The Empress Of The Blues", a uniquely powerful, soulful and uncompromising blues singer, was an originator and a star. She became one of the highest-paid Black performers of her time, influencing fellow blues and jazz singers for generations to come and helping transform the record industry. After treading the vaudeville boards in the 1910's alongside Ma Rainey, Smith rose to the top and was picked up by a struggling Columbia Records. Her first single Down Hearted Blues sold nearly a million in 8 months, saving Columbia from bankruptcy. Pressed on 140g black vinyl, this 13-track LP features some of The Empress' best-loved songs from her tragically short career. From her very earliest sessions in 1923, through collaborations with Louis Armstrong and Fletcher Henderson to later reflections on prohibition. A fitting tribute to one of the true heroes, not only of the blues, but musical history itself.