Count Basie - Jive At Five: The Collection 1937-1939 | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Jive At Five: The Collection 1937-1939
Artist: Count Basie
Format: Vinyl


Rel. Date: 06/02/2023
UPC: 824046161729

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Pennies from Heaven
2. One O'Clock Jump
3. Good Morning Blues
4. Every Tub
5. Topsy
6. Sent for You Yesterday, and Here You Come Today
7. Swinging the Blues
8. Blue and Sentimental
9. Doggin' Around
10. Stop Beatin' Round the Mulberry Bush
11. Mama Don't Want No Peas An' Rice An' Coconut Oil
12. Jumping at the Woodside
13. Boogie Woogie
14. Jive at Five

More Info:

Vinyl LP pressing. Anyone with more than a merest passing interest in jazz will not need to be told that William Count Basie was one of the most important personalities in the entire history of the genre. As pianist, bandleader, and composer, he was not only one of the most influential figures in shaping the sounds that were central to jazz from the 1930s through to the 1950s, but his bands often provided a springboard for many great names to emerge onto the wider scene. We hope that this musical snapshot of the era at the start of Basie's career as a bandleader offers a fascinating insight into the foundations of his reputation. Pressed on 140g black vinyl, the set includes One O'clock Jump, Good Morning Blues, Every Tub, Swinging The Blues and Blue And Sentimental. Basie once said: If you play a tune and a person don't tap their feet, don't play the tune... This 14-track LP of songs, which captures Count Basie's Orchestra during a brief but pivotal period in his career, will certainly get you tapping those feet.