Rose Maddox - Sing A Little Song Of Heartache: The Solo Singles | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Rose Maddox - Sing A Little Song Of Heartache: The Solo Singles
Sing A Little Song Of Heartache: The Solo Singles
Artist: Rose Maddox
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 05/12/2023
UPC: 824046346720

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. The Nightingale Song
2. I'd Rather Die Young
3. I'm a Little Red Caboose (On the Choo-Choo Train of Love)
4. Wasted Years
5. Kiss Me Like Crazy
6. Just One More Time
7. Birthday Card Song (The Card That You Sent on My Birthday)
8. Breathless Love
9. Marry Me Again
10. Poor Little Heartbroken Rose
11. Waltz of the Pines
12. Life That You've Led
13. I Wonder If I Can Lose the Blues This Way
14. There's No Right Way to Do Me Wrong
15. Wild, Wild Young Men
16. Second Choice
17. Humming Bird
18. Words Are So Easy to Say
19. Wild Wind
20. Was There a Teardrop
21. Hasty Baby
22. When the Sun Goes Down
23. Tall Men
24. Hey Little Dreamboat
25. Burrito Jo
26. False Hearted
27. Looky There Over There
28. Your Sweet Mean Heart
29. Take a Gamble on Me
30. 1-2-3-4 Anyplace Road (Somewhere USA)
31. I'll Go Steppin' Too
32. Let Those Brown Eyes Smile at Me
33. Gambler's Love
34. What Makes Me Hang Around
35. Custer's Last Stand
36. My Little Baby
37. Lost Today
38. I'm Happy Every Day I Live
39. Please Help Me I'm Falling
40. Down, Down, Down
41. Shining Silver Gleaming Gold
42. Billy Cline
43. I Want to Live Again
44. Kissing My Pillow
45. Mental Cruelty
46. Loose Talk
47. Conscience I'm Guilty
48. Lonely Street
49. There Ain't No Love
50. Your Kind of Lovin' Won't Do
51. Here We Go Again
52. Fool Me Again
53. Let's Pretend We're Strangers
54. Take Me Back Again
55. Sing a Little Song of Heartache
56. Tie a Ribbon in the Apple Tree
57. Honky-Tonkin'
58. Why Don't You Haul Off and Love Me

More Info:

Rose Maddox - Sing A Little Song Of Heartache: The Solo Singles 1953-62 - Rose Maddox was a country singer, songwriter and fiddle player from Alabama, whose family migrated to California in the 1930s, where she started singing on radio and formed a band with her brothers, who performed and recorded for a decade after WWII as the Maddox Brothers & Rose. When the group broke up in 1957, she started a solo career and enjoyed a string of chart entries over the next few years as she built a reputation as an extrovert, dynamic performer, blending hillbilly, rockabilly and gospel in a highly distinctive musical mix. This 58-track 2-CD collection comprises most of the A&B sides of her singles on Columbia and Capitol during these years, plus bonus tracks from her Capitol album "One Rose". It features her No. 3 country hit "Sing A Little Song Of Heartache" and her other solo country hits from this era "Gambler's Love", "Kissing My Pillow", "I Want To Live Again" and "Conscience I'm Guilty", plus her Top 10 duet hits with Buck Owens "Mental Cruelty" and "Loose Talk". She was an artist who had an impact far beyond the degree of her success, with Emmylou Harris saying she has not has the attention she deserves and Dolly Parton citing her as an early influence. This collection offers a substantial overview of a key era of her solo career and is an entertaining showcase for her particular style of country.