Johnny Hartman - Smooth & Swinging: The Singles & Albums Collection | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Smooth & Swinging: The Singles & Albums Collection
Artist: Johnny Hartman
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 11/10/2023
UPC: 824046348823

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Midnight in New Orleans
2. When I Dream of You
3. Why Was I Born
4. Why Must I Be Tormented
5. Just A-Wearyin' for You
6. I'll Never Smile Again
7. Just You Just Me
8. A Woman Always Understands
9. I Let a Song Go Out of My Heart
10. Sometime Remind Me to Tell You
11. I Should Care
12. That Old Black Magic
13. S'posin'
14. Close Your Eyes
15. Goodbye
16. You Go to My Head
17. If Love Is Trouble
18. Remember
19. September in the Rain
20. It's Easy to Remember
21. Home (When Shadows Fall)
22. Nightingale
23. Out of the Night
24. I Ran All the Way Home
25. Lemme Go
26. I'm Afraid
27. Wheel of Fortune
28. Wild
29. Black Shadow
30. I Feel Like Crying
31. The World Was Mine
32. What Is There to Say
33. Ain't Misbehavin' (I'm Savin' My Love for You)
34. I Fall in Love Too Easily
35. They Didn't Believe Me
36. I'm Glad There Is You (In This World of Ordinary People)
37. When Your Lover Has Gone
38. Moonlight in Vermont
39. Blue Skies
40. The Birth of the Blues
41. All of Me
42. Tenderly
43. The Lamp Is Low
44. While We're Young
45. The End of a Love Affair
46. Mam'selle
47. Sunday
48. Alone
49. Long Ago and Far Away
50. After You've Gone
51. How Long Has This Been Going on

More Info:

The top bands and accompanists of the day during his career, including Earl Hines, Dizzy Gillespie and Erroll Garner, and became famous during the 1970s, beyond the scope of this collection, for an album he made with John Coltrane. Unlike his more middle-of-the-road peers in the world of post-war sophisticated pop, he did not make records aimed at the singles charts so is less well-known than artists like Tony Bennett, Johnny Mathis and Mel Torme, but was a singer who was highly-regarded by his peers and aficionados. This excellent-value 52-track 2-CD collection comprises material drawn from singles and albums, featuring recordings with the orchestras of Earl Hines, Dizzy Gillespie, Jimmy Carroll, George Williams, Norman Leyden, Perez Prado, Howard Biggs and Frank Hunter, plus the Errol Garner Trio. It includes selected titles from Regent/Savoy album Johnny Hartman Sings, and his albums on the Bethlehem label Songs From The Heart, All Of Me: The Debonair Mr. Hartman and And I Thought About You. He was a fine interpreter of the repertoire of the Great American Songbook, and this collection offers an insight into the talents of a performer who has not has the attention he merits, and is an entertaining showcase for his work.