Clarence Henry Frogman - But I Do: The Complete Releases 1956-62 | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

But I Do: The Complete Releases 1956-62
Artist: Clarence Henry Frogman
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 10/15/2021
UPC: 824046440220

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Ain't Got No Home
2. Troubles, Troubles
3. Lonely Tramp
4. I'm A Country Boy
5. I Found A Home
6. It Won't Be Long
7. Baby Baby Please
8. I'm In Love
9. I Don't Know Why (But I Do)
10. Just My Baby And Me
11. You Always Hurt The One You Love
12. Little Suzy
13. Why Can't You
14. Lonely Street
15. On Bended Knees
16. Standing In The Need Of Love
17. A Little Too Much
18. I Wish I Could Say The Same
19. Dream Myself A Sweetheart
20. Lost Without You
21. The Jealous Kind
22. Come On And Dance
23. I Want To Be A Movie Star
24. Oh, Why
25. Your Picture
26. Live It Right
27. Never, Never
28. I Love You, Yes I Do
29. Steady Date
30. Oh, Mickey

More Info:

Clarence Henry was a rhythm & blues singer an pianist from New Orleans and an early disciple of Fats Domino and Professor Longhair, playing in the early '50s with Bobby Mitchell & The Toppers and the band of saxophonist Eddie Smith. When Chess A & R man Paul Gayten heard him sing his composition "Ain't Got No Home" with his trademark croak in his voice, he was signed to Chess and had a hit with his first release, although it was five years before his next success. In the period covered by this set, had had ten chart entries including Top 10 hits on both sides of the Atlantic with "I Don't Know Why (But I Do)" and "You Always Hurt The One You Love". This 30-track CD comprises the A and B sides of his singles during this era on the Argo label plus the tracks from his album "You Always Hurt The One You Love" album not otherwise released on singles. It features all his ten pop, R&B & UK chart entries from these years, including the Top 10 hits "Ain't Got No Home", "I Don't Know Why (But I Do)" and "You Always Hurt the One You Love". His music was very much inspired by and typical of the New Orleans R & B idiom, and his highly individual vocal style earned him the nickname "Frogman". This collection offers a comprehensive overview of this first era of his career, and an entertaining showcase for that distinctive approach.