Jr Davis Sammy - Singles Collection 1949-62 | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Singles Collection 1949-62
Artist: Jr Davis Sammy
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 08/05/2022
UPC: 824046912123

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. I Don't Care Who Knows
2. The Way You Look Tonight
3. Yours Is My Heart Alone
4. Wagon Wheels
5. Laura
6. I'm Sorry Dear
7. Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone
8. I Ain't Got Nobody (And Nobody Cares For Me)
9. You Are My Lucky Star
10. Can't You See I've Got The Blues
11. Bebop The Beguine
12. Azure
13. Smile, Darn Ya, Smile
14. Hey There
15. And This Is My Beloved
16. Because Of You - Part 1
17. Glad To Be Unhappy
18. The Red Grapes
19. Love (Your Magic Spell Is Everywhere)
20. The Birth Of The Blues
21. Six Bridges To Cross
22. All Of You
23. Love Me Or Leave Me
24. Something's Gotta Give
25. A Man With A Dream
26. That Old Black Magic
27. A Fine Romance
28. I Go For You
29. It's Bigger Than You And Me
30. Back Track!
31. I'll Know
32. Beat Me Daddy Eight To The Bar
33. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate The Positive
34. In A Persian Market
35. The Man With The Golden Arm
36. Frankie And Johnny
37. Jacques D'Iraque
38. Too Close For Comfort
39. Get Out Of The Car
40. You're Sensational
41. Five
42. Earthbound
43. Just One Of Those Things
44. New York's My Home
45. Dangerous
46. All About Love
47. The Golden Key
48. Long Before I Knew You
49. Don'cha Go 'Way Mad
50. Happy To Make Your Acquaintance
51. Baby, It's Cold Outside
52. Mad Ball
53. All Dressed Up And No Place To Go
54. I'm Comin' Home
55. Hallelujah I Love Her So
56. No Fool Like An Old Fool
57. I Ain't Gonna Change (The Way I Feel About You)
58. Song And Dance Man
59. That's Anna
60. Fair Warning
61. You'll Never Get Away From Me
62. I Got Plenty O' Nuttin'
63. Mess Around
64. This Little Girl Of Mine
65. Face To Face
66. Ain't That A Kick In The Head
67. Ee-O Eleven
68. Back In Your Own Back Yard
69. I'm A Fool To Want You
70. There Was A Tavern In The Town
71. What Kind Of Fool Am I
72. Gonna Build A Mountain
73. The Fool I Used To Be
74. Everybody Calls Me Joe
75. Once In A Lifetime
76. Someone Nice Like You
77. Me And My Shadow
78. Sam's Song

More Info:

Sammy Davis Jr. Was a multi-talented artist, a singer, dancer, stage and movie actor, comedian and TV personality, whose career encompassed not only performing and recording in those arenas, but also film and TV direction. Later famous as a member of the Rat Pack, he made his first records in 1949, but came to the fore after performing at the 1951 Academy Awards, to develop his many-faceted career. With a style rooted in old school big band music, he expanded his musical scope to have a dozen or so hits during the era covered by this collection, and as many again in subsequent years, as well as being a highly successful album seller. This great-value 78-track 3-CD set comprises most of the A & B sides from releases on the Capitol, Decca and Reprise labels from these years, including duets with Carmen McRae, Gary Crosby, Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin. It features all his US & UK chart entries from this era, including the Top 20 hits "Hey There", "Love Me Or Leave Me", "Something's Gotta Give", "That Old Black Magic", "What Kind Of Fool Am I" and "Me And My Shadow". The repertoire and the style of his performances and the production range across sophisticated pop, big band jazz, straight chart-focused pop, classy ballads and novelty-ish pieces, all making for a varied showcase for his extraordinary talent and versatility as an entertainer.