Hazel Scott - Great Scott! Collected Recordings 1939-57 | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Great Scott! Collected Recordings 1939-57
Artist: Hazel Scott
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 04/07/2023
UPC: 824046913021

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Calling All Bars
2. Mighty Like The Blues
3. You Gave Me The Go-By
4. Why Didn't William Tell?
5. Ritual Fire Dance
6. Two-Part Invention In A Minor
7. Country Gardens
8. Prelude In C Sharp Minor
9. Valse In D Flat Major
10. Hungarian Rhapsody No. 2
11. Hazel's Boogie Woogie
12. Blues In B Flat
13. Embraceable You
14. Three Little Words
15. Dark Eyes [Otchitchornyia]
16. Hallelujah
17. People Will Say We're In Love
18. Honeysuckle Rose
19. Body And Soul
20. C Jam Blues
21. Take Me In Your Arms
22. I'm Glad There Is You
23. Fascinating Rhythm
24. The Man I Love
25. I Guess I'll Have To Change My Plans
26. Valse In C Sharp Minor
27. Fantasie Impromptu
28. Nocturne In B Flat Minor
29. A Rainy Night In G
30. How High The Moon
31. Sonate In C Minor - Toccata
32. On The Sunny Side Of The Street
33. I've Got The World On A String
34. Butterfly Kick
35. Ich Vill Sich Spielen
36. Soon
37. Love Me Or Leave Me
38. Emaline
39. Love Will Find A Way
40. Mary Lou
41. Dancing On The Ceiling (He Dances On My Ceiling)
42. Nightmare Blues
43. Brown Bee Boogie
44. That Old Black Magic
45. For All We Know
46. Tinkerbell Blows Again
47. Soothe Me
48. Un Gamin De Paris
49. Whatever Happened To Captain Hook
50. J'aime Bien Paris
51. Like Someone In Love
52. Peace Of Mind
53. Lament
54. The Jeep Is Jumpin'
55. Git Up From There
56. A Foggy Day
57. Mountain Greenery
58. In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning
59. It's You Or No One
60. It's Easy To Remember
61. Just Imagine
62. Lucky To Be Me
63. 'Round Midnight
64. I Wish I Didn't Love You So
65. For You, For Me, For Evermore
66. Ev'ry Time
67. Maybe
68. Love Is The Thing
69. Warm All Over

More Info:

Hazel Scott - Great Scott! Collected Recordings 1939-57 - Hazel Scott was a jazz pianist and singer, about whom we hear very little these, but who was a stylish and respected performer, especially known for her jazz interpretations of classical pieces and styles, but also a noted composer as well as a fine vocalist with a sophisticated approach to the Great American Songbook. This 69-track 3-CD collection brings together a significant proportion of her recordings during the primary era of her career, before she largely relocated to France in the wake of McCarthy-ite persecution as a committed civil rights activist. It features solo piano recordings, plus piano and vocal performances with small groups and orchestras, so offers an entertaining cross-section of her output for the Bluebird, Decca, V-Disc, Signature, Columbia, Capitol and Debut labels. It includes most of the titles from her albums "Swinging The Classics", "A Piano Recital", "Great Scott", "Grand Jazz", "Relaxed Piano Moods" and "Round Midnight", and features recordings with Charles Mingus, Max Roach, J.C. Heard, Sidney Catlett, Toots Camarata, Charlie Shavers, Ernie Caceres, Red Callender, Everett Barksdale and many others. It's a substantial and enjoyable showcase for a talented artist whose work deserves a much higher profile than she has generally enjoyed. - It's a substantial and enjoyable showcase for a talented artist whose work deserves a much higher profile