Vivaldi / Ipata / Musici - Flute Concertos 10 | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)

More Info:

"Il Prete Rosso" - the red priest, Antonio Vivaldi got this nickname because of his red hair. He came to the famous Venetian girls' orphanage Ospedale della Pietà as a young priest and violin teacher. There he also became acquainted with the instrument of the transverse flute, which was new at that time, played at the Ospedale by a girl called "Lucieta traversie". Vivaldi recognised the technical and expressive possibilities of the transverse flute and used it in a wide variety of genres. With his six "Concerti a Flauto traverso" Opus 10, he presented an entire collection of concertos for this new instrument for the first time in 1729. To this end, he reworked earlier concertos for other instruments and added a new concerto to make a very successful collection that was printed in the Netherlands. Like the famous "Seasons", three of the concertos have a programmatic character: Vivaldi combines rhythmic and harmonic elements, for example, to give musical form to the waves in "Tempesta di Mare" (The Sea Storm), the chirping in "Il Gardellino" (The Finch) or the ghosts and sleep in "La notte" (The Night).