Marvin Gaye - Soulful Moods of Marvin Gaye | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. (I'm Afraid) the Masquerade Is Over
2. My Funny Valentine
3. Witchcraft
4. Easy Living
5. How Deep Is the Ocean
6. Hitch Hike
7. Taking My Time
8. Love for Sale
9. Always 1
10. How High the Moon 1
11. Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide 1
12. Never Let You Go 1
13. You Don't Know What Love Is 1
14. Mr. Sandman 1
15. I'm Yours, You're Mine

More Info:

Limited 180 gm vinyl LP pressing of this 1961 album includes four bonus tracks. This quintessential collector's edition includes the legendary singer's magnificent debut LP for the Tamla label, the Soulful Moods of Marvin Gaye, plus bonus tracks, consisting of singles from the same period. The album was recorded over two weeks and was issued on June 8, 1961. It features more Jazz than Soul, and had a much different sound than Gaye's subsequent albums. Gaye's true artistic longing was to make his mark as a smooth crooner. Where many in the Motown stable had to be coached through their all-purpose shows at the Copacabana and other supper clubs - the label's way of claiming mainstream legitimacy - Marvin yearned for this level of artistry and acceptance. This is the material upon which his soul kingdom and unique personal style were built.