Oliver Nelson - Blues & The Abstracts Truth (Bonus Track) [Limited Edition] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store

More Info:

The Complete Album + 1 Bonus Track - 180 Gram Vinyl-Audiophile Pressing. The Blues and the Abstract Truth (1961) remains Oliver Nelson's most acclaimed album and features a lineup of topclass musicians: Freddie Hubbard, Eric Dolphy, Bill Evans, Paul Chambers, and Roy Haynes. Baritone saxophonist George Barrow does not take solos but remains a key feature in the subtle voicings of Nelson's arrangements. The album is often noted for it's unique ensemble arrangements and is frequently identified as a progenitor of Nelson's move towards arranging later in his career. It includes the iconic version of Nelson's all-time classic "Stolen Moments". Reviewer Michael G. Nastos gave it the maximum rating of 5 stars in AllMusic, stating the album is "a must buy for all jazz fans, and a Top Ten or Top Fifty favorite for many." This 180-gram LP edition includes, as a bonus, Nelson's original version of "Stolen Moments", recorded the previous year as "The Stolen Moment."