Grateful Dead - Road Trips Vol. 2 No. 4--Cal Expo '93 (Jewl) | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Road Trips Vol. 2 No. 4--Cal Expo '93 (Jewl)
Artist: Grateful Dead
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 01/08/2021
UPC: 848064011545

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Samson and Delilah
2. Here Comes Sunshine
3. Walkin' Blues
4. Deal
5. Box of Rain
6. Victim or the Crime
7. Crazy Fingers
8. Playing in the Band
9. Rhythm Devils
10. Corrina
11. Playing in the Band
12. China Doll
13. Around and Around
14. Liberty
15. Shakedown Street
16. The Same Thing
17. Dire Wolf
18. High Time
19. When I Paint My Masterpiece

More Info:

The Cal Expo Amphitheatre at the State Fairgrounds in Sacramento became one of the homes-away-from-home (but not too far away from home!) for The Grateful Dead during their later years, and they always played well there, inspired perhaps by the good old-fashioned (and increasingly rare) General Admission policy towards seating coupled with a grassy infield for dancing. So, when the Dead settled in for a three-night run from May 25-27 in 1993, anticipation was high'but what occurred exceeded even the wildest expectations of the most devout Dead Head. Simply put, the second set of the May 26 show'captured here in it's entirety'is considered by many as the absolute high point of the Vince Welnick edition of the band, as the always welcome set opener 'Box of Rain' leads into a magical medley of 'Victim or the Crime'/'Crazy Fingers'/'Playing in the Band'/'Rhythm Devils'/'Corrina'/'Playing in the Band'/'China Doll'/'Around and Around' that summons up that halcyon '70s spirit. What's more, this 2-CD set, which also features excerpts from the 5/26/93 first set and the next day's show, has some extra surprises in store: the 5/26/93 encore 'Liberty' makes it's first appearances on a live Dead release, as does the aforementioned 'Corrina.' With notes by Blair Jackson and full-color photos from the gig, this Road Trip is as good as it got during the last few miles of the long strange trip, and it's remastered in HDCD sound by Jeffrey Norman. First time available at retail music stores!