Love / Shemon / Davis - Solace | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)

More Info:

Virtuoso alto saxophonist and PRISM Quartet member Zachary Shemon is joined by the Conservatory Wind Symphony of the University of Missouri-Kansas City under Steven D. Davis for "Solace: A Lyric Concerto" by Houston-based composer Joel Love. The work is inspired by David Whyte's book, "Consolations: The Solace, Nourishment, and Underlying Meaning in Words." The composer notes, "Whyte's work meditates on words themselves, often revealing connections between difficult situations and their unexpectedly positive outcomes. Similarly, each of 'Solace's' five movements meditates on a mood and is inspired by either a selection of text or title word from the book," that reflects a particular state of being: Joy, Besieged, Gratitude, Hiding, and Work.