Sheida Gharachedaghi & Mohammad Reza Aslani - Chess Of The Wind | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Prelude
2. Dance of the Spirit
3. The Dream of Death
4. Purgatory
5. The Truth of Death
6. Moribund
7. Awareness of the Dying
8. Darkness Enters
9. The Funeral / Revolt
10. The Illusion of Serenity / Arrest and Detention
11. Golliwog / Masculine Conquest
12. Hope Arises from Despair
13. Ending Parade

More Info:

The lost soundtrack to "Chess of the Wind", Iran's banned 1976 queer-gothic-class-horror masterpiece, restored by the director and released for the first time. Not for the faint of heart!A masterpiece of world cinema, Mohammad Reza Aslani's "Chess of the Wind" was banned in Iran and thought to be lost until a complete print of the film re-emerged in an antique shop in 2014. Restored by Martin Scorcese's Film Foundation and released to rapturous reviews in 2020, "Chess of the Wind" has taken it's rightful place as one of the most visionary and daring films of pre-revolutionary Iranian cinema.The film's soundtrack, by one of the nation's most revered female composers, Sheyda Gharachedaghi, is just as daring - a combination of Persian classical instrumentation and atonal dissonance drawn from her Western conservatory background. Woodwinds, traditional Persian percussion, and the eerie moan of the ancient sheypour horn reflect the film's battle between feudalism and modernity. As one scholar said, it sounds like "Ornette Coleman visiting a holy shrine in Iran."Mississippi is proud to release a major work by two of Iran's most prominent and overlooked artists. The release comes with 8 full-size pages of liner notes and stills from the film, including song translations and an in-depth history by Gita Aslani Shahrestani.