Bach / Steinbacher / Koncz - Bach & Part | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Fratres (Version for Violin, Strings and Percussion)
2. * Violin Concerto in E Major, BWV 1042
3. I. Allegro
4. II. Adagio
5. III. Allegro Assai
6. * Violin Concerto in a Minor, BWV 1041
7. I. Allegro Moderato
8. II. Andante
9. III. Allegro Assai
10. * Concerto for 2 Violins in D minor, BWV 1043
11. I. Vivace
12. II. Largo Ma Non Tanto
13. III. Allegro
14. Spiegel Im Spiegel (Version for Violin and Piano)

More Info:

Arabella Steinbacher presents works for violin and orchestra by Johann Sebastian Bach and Arvo Pärt, together with violinist Christoph Koncz and the Stuttgarter Kammerorchester. Bach's violin concertos have had a very special significance for Steinbacher ever since hearing the A Minor Concerto at the age of four, an experience that made her decide to become a musician. This seminal work is performed here alongside the E Major Violin Concerto and the Double Concerto in D Minor, on which she is joined by violinist Christoph Koncz. The Bach concertos are framed by two of Arvo Pärt's most profound and enigmatic pieces: Fratres and Spiegel i'm Spiegel; the former in the version for violin, string orchestra and percussion, the latter rendered in a version for violin and piano, together with Peter von Wienhardt. Bach and Pärt may be centuries apart, but for Steinbacher, they have a spiritual and sacred origin in common, and their music resonates deeply with her. Arabella Steinbacher is a multiple award-winner with an extensive Pentatone discography, including Mozart's complete violin concertos (2014 and 2021), Four Seasons (Vivaldi & Piazzolla, 2020), Mendelssohn & Tchaikovsky Violin Concertos (2015) and many others. Christoph Koncz and the Stuttgarter Kammerorchester make their Pentatone debut.