Thelonious Monk Quartet - Complete Columbia Studio Albums Collection (Clam) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Thelonious Monk  Quartet - Complete Columbia Studio Albums Collection (Clam)
Complete Columbia Studio Albums Collection (Clam)
Artist: Thelonious Monk Quartet
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 09/06/2024
UPC: 8718627236956

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Monk's Dream (Take 8)
2. Body and Soul
3. Bright Mississippi (Take 1)
4. Five Spot Blues (Album Version)
5. Blue Bolivar Blues (Take 2)
6. Just a Gigolo
7. Bye-Ya (Album Version)
8. Sweet and Lovely (Album Version)
9. Monk's Dream (Take 3)
10. Body and Soul (Take 1)
11. Bright Mississippi (Take 3)
12. Blue Bolivar Blues (Take 1)
13. Hackensack
14. Tea for Two
15. Criss Cross
16. Eronel
17. Rhythm-A-Ning
18. Don't Blame Me (Retake 1)
19. Think of One
20. Crepuscule with Nellie
21. Pannonica
22. Coming on the Hudson (Album Version)
23. Tea for Two (Take 9) (Album Version)
24. Eronel (Take 3) (Album Version)
25. Lulu's Back in Town (Album Version)
26. Memories of You (Album Version)
27. Stuffy Turkey (Album Version)
28. Brake's Sake (Album Version)
29. Nice Work If You Can Get It (Take 3) (Album Version)
30. Shuffle Boil (Retake) (Album Version)
31. Epistrophy (Take 1) (Album Version)
32. Nice Work If You Can Get It (Take 2) (Album Version)
33. Shuffle Boil (Take 5) (Album Version
34. Liza (All the Clouds'll Roll Away)
35. April in Paris (Take 6)
36. Children's Song (That Old Man)
37. I Love You (Sweetheart of All My Dreams)
38. Just You, Just Me
39. Pannonica (Re-Take 2)
40. Teo
41. April in Paris (Take 1)
42. Pannonica (Take 2)
43. Medley: Just You, Just Me / Liza (All the Clouds'll Roll Away)
44. Locomotive
45. I Didn't Know About You
46. Straight, No Chaser
47. Japanese Folk Song
48. Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea
49. We See
50. This Is My Story, This Is My Song (Album Version)
51. I Didn't Know About You (Take 1)
52. Green Chimneys (Album Version)
53. Thelonious
54. Ugly Beauty
55. Raise Four
56. Boo Boo's Birthday (Take 11)
57. Easy Street
58. Green Chimneys
59. In Walked Bud
60. Ugly Beauty (Take 4) (Album Version)
61. Boo Boo's Birthday (Take 2) (Album Version)
62. Thelonious (Take 3) (Album Version)

More Info:

Thelonious Monk Quartet's "The Complete Columbia Studio Albums Collection" is a treasure trove collection that brings together all the six studio albums recorded by the iconic jazz pianist and his quartet during his tenure with Columbia Records. This box set includes the albums recorded between 1960 and 1968, showcasing Monk's unique approach to jazz and his influence on the genre. His quartet, featuring tenor saxophonist Charlie Rouse, bassists Larry Gales, John Ore or Butch Warren, and drummers Ben Riley or Frankie Dunlop, exhibits a cohesive and dynamic interplay throughout these recordings. Rouse's saxophone work is particularly noteworthy, providing a melodic counterpoint to Monk's angular piano lines. The box features a mix of well-known compositions and lesser-known gems. Whether you are a long-time fan or new to Monk's music, this box set offers a comprehensive and satisfying listening experience that highlights the genius of one of jazz's greatest pioneers.