Igor Stravinsky / Columbia Symphony - Stravinsky: The Firebird - Orange Vinyl [Colored Vinyl] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Introduction
2. The Enchanted Garden of Kastchei
3. The Firebird Appears, Pursued By Ivan Tsarevitch
4. Dance of the Firebird
5. Capture of the Firebird By Ivan Tsarevitch
6. Supplication of the Firebird
7. Appearance of the Thirteen Enchanted Princesses
8. The Princesses Play with the Golden Apples (Scherzo)
9. Sudden Appearance of Ivan Tsarevitch
10. The Princesses' Round
11. Dawn Breaks (Ivan Tsarevitch Enters the Palace of Kastchei)
12. Magic Carillon, Appearance of the Monsters, and Capture of Ivan Tsarevitch
13. Arrival of Kastchei the Immortal
14. Dialogue of Kastchei and Ivan Tsarevitch
15. Intercession of the Princesses
16. Appearance of the Firebird
17. Dance of Kastchei's Followers Enchanted By the Firebird
18. Infernal Dance of Kastchei's Subjects
19. Lullaby (The Firebird)
20. Awakening of Kastchei
21. Death of Kastchei - Profound Darkness
22. Kastchei's Spells Are Broken, His Palace Disappears, the Stone Knights Return to Life, Joy Reigns

More Info:

"The Firebird" is a ballet and orchestral concert work by the Russian composer Igor Stravinsky. It was written for the 1910 Paris season of Sergei Diaghilev's Ballets Russes company based on the Russian fairy tales of the Firebird and the blessing and curse it possesses for it's owner. The Firebird's mortal and supernatural elements are distinguished with a system of leitmotifs placed in the harmony dubbed "leit-harmony". Stravinsky intentionally used many specialist techniques in the orchestra, including ponticello, col legno, flautando, glissando, and flutter-tonguing. Set in the evil immortal Koschei's castle, the ballet follows Prince Ivan, who battles Koschei with the help of the magical Firebird. Recorded in 1961 by The Columbia Symphony Orchestra. This version in limited pressed on Solid Orange vinyl.