Machito & His Salsa Big Band - Machito & His Salsa Big Band 1982 (Blue) [Colored Vinyl] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Side A
2. Track 2
3. Elas de la Rumba
4. Track 4
5. Quimbobo
6. Track 6
7. Piniero Tenia Razon
8. Track 8
9. Caso Perdido
10. Side B
11. Track 11
12. Manicero
13. Track 13
14. Sambia
15. Track 15
16. Yerbero

More Info:

Machito and his Salsa Big Band 1982 is the Afro-Cuban salsa jazz orchestra led by Machito aka Frank Raul Grillo, who emigrated to New York City in the late 1930's. Machito is credited to be one of the innovators fusing Jazz/Be-bop with Afro-Cuban rhythms into salsa. His 14 man and onewoman strong orchestra performs seven infectious salsa tracks, all written by Machito and recorded in 1983 at the Fendal Sound Studio's (Holland), in a short four hours mostly one take per tune. The album won the 1983 Grammy Award in the category Best Latin Recording. Machito and his Salsa Big Band 1982 is available as a limited edition of 500 individually numbered copies on translucent blue vinyl and contains liner notes written by Dutch saxophone artist Hans Dulfer on the back sleeve. LISTEN: https://youtu. Be/w4eg6p_cj4c* 180 GRAM AUDIOPHILE * LINER NOTES BY DUTCH SAXOPHONE ARTIST HANS DULFER ON BACKSLEEVE* 1983 GRAMMY AWARD IN THE CATEGORY BEST LATIN RECORDING * LIMITED EDITION OF 500 INDIVIDUALLY NUMBERED COPIES ON TRANSLUCENT BLUE COLORED VINYLTrack listing:SIDE A1. Elas de la Rumba2. Quimbobo2. Piniero Tenia Razon4. Caso Perdido SIDE B1. Manicero2. Sambia3. Yerbero