Yo Ma -Yo / Stott,Kathryn - Songs From The Arc Of Life [Colored Vinyl] [Limited Edition] [180 Gram] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Ave Maria (Bach / Gounod)
2. Lullaby (Brahms)
3. Songs My Mother Taught Me (Dvorák)
4. Papillon (Fauré)
5. Tango Jalousie (Gade)
6. I. Vanitas Vanitatum (From Five Pieces in the Popular Style) (Schumann)
7. Was It a Dream? (Sibelius)
8. Après Un Rêve (Fauré)
9. Salut D'amour (Elgar)
10. Prelude No. 1 (Gershwin)
11. Romance for Cello and Piano (Delius)
12. La Gitana (Kreisler)
13. Il Bell'antonio, Tema III (Sollima)
14. The Swan (From Carnival of the Animals) (Saint-Saëns)
15. The Wounded Heart (From Elegiac Melodies) (Grieg)
16. Valse Sentimentale (Tchaikovsky)
17. Louange A L'éternité de Jésus (From Quartet for the End of Time) (Messiaen)
18. Beau Soir (Debussy)
19. Ave Maria (Schubert)

More Info:

Limited edition of 750 copies on orange coloured 180-gram audiophile vinyl. Yo-Yo Ma is one of the most famous and best cellists in the world and has been awarded 18 Grammys, among others. After some very successful excursions into the musical world of jazz, American folk music and traditional Chinese music, the cellist is now releasing another classical album. With his longtime friend, pianist Kathryn Stott, Yo-Yo Ma has recorded well-known and popular classical melodies on Songs From The Arc Of Life. The album begins and ends with two popular "Ave Maria" settings: Bach/Gounod's bright, radiant version begins, and Schubert's more reflective, serious version concludes. In between are beloved classics such as "Brahms' Lullaby", Dvorák's "Lieder", Elgar's "Salut d'Amour", Jacob Gade's "Jalousie", Saint-Saëns' "Swan", as well as atmospheric pieces by Debussy, Fauré, Gershwin and Tchaikovsky. These are all pieces that Ma and Stott have often played together in concert but have never recorded until now.