Mama's Broke - Narrow Line | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Just Pick One
2. Oh Sun / Pale Night / Forgetting Reel
3. Between the Briar ; the Rose
4. How It Ends
5. Narrow Line
6. October's Lament
7. Pick the Raisins from the Paska
8. God's Little Boy
9. The Wreckage Done
10. The Ones That I Love
11. Windows

More Info:

Canadian folk duo Mama's Broke has spent the past seven years in a near-constant state of transience, pounding the transatlantic tour trail. They've brought their dark, fiery folk-without-borders sound to major festivals and DIY punk houses alike, absorbing traditions from their maritime home in Eastern Canada, all the way to Ireland and Indonesia along the way. Nowhere is the duo's art-in-motion approach more apparent than on their long-awaited sophomore record 'Narrow Line'; it's the sound of nowhere in particular, yet woven with a rich synthesis of influences that knows no borders. The eleven songs on 'Narrow Line' burrow deeply, with close harmony duets, commanding vocals, and poignant contemplations on cycles of life, including birth and death. Tinges of Americana stand side-by-side with the ghosts of Eastern European fiddle tunes and ancient a cappella ballad singing, melding into an unusually accessible dark-folk sound. A careful listen of 'Narrow Line' invokes an ephemeral sense of place-whether real or imagined-inviting us to take comfort in the infinite possibilities of life, whether or not we ever choose to settle down.