Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra - Zemlinsky: Die Seejungfrau; Schreker: Der Geburtstag der Infantin | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Die Seejungfrau: I. Sehr Mäßig Bewegt
2. Die Seejungfrau: II. Sehr Bewegt, Rauschend
3. Die Seejungfrau: III. Sehr Gedehnt, Mit Schmerzvollem Ausdruck
4. Der Geburtstag Der Infantin: I. Die Infantin Im Kreise Ihrer Gespielinnen
5. Der Geburtstag Der Infantin: II. Aufzug Und Gratulation Der Knaben
6. Der Geburtstag Der Infantin: III. Der Stierkampf
7. Der Geburtstag Der Infantin: IV. Die Infantin
8. Der Geburtstag Der Infantin: V. Die Marionetten
9. Der Geburtstag Der Infantin: VI. Menuett Der Tänzerknaben Der Kirche Von Nuestra Señora Del Pilaz
10. Der Geburtstag Der Infantin: VII. Mit Dem Winde Im Frühling
11. Der Geburtstag Der Infantin, Die Drei Tänze Des Zwerges: VIII. Der Tanz in Blauen Sandalen Über Das Korn
12. Der Geburtstag Der Infantin, Die Drei Tänze Des Zwerges: IX. Der Tanz Im Roten Gewand Im Herbst
13. Der Geburtstag Der Infantin: X. Die Rose Der Infantin
14. Der Geburtstag Der Infantin: XI. Der Spiegel Und Der Zwerg
15. Der Geburtstag Der Infantin: XII. Der Tod Des Zwergs Und Schlussszene

More Info:

Following on from their critically acclaimed albums of Stravinsky, Elgar and Tchaikovsky, the award winning team of Vasily Petrenko and the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra turn to Zemlinsky and Schreker. Premiered in 1905, Zemlinsky's Die Seejungfrau (after Hans Christian Andersen) was almost ignored by the reviewers. Considered too conservative for the progressives, and too progressive for the conservatives, Zemlinsky struggled to overcome the negative reviews of this masterpiece and withdrew it in the immediate aftermath of the premiere. Vasily Petrenko for this recording uses the original version of the score which restores the "bei der Meerhexe" episode to the 2nd movement. One of the most progressive of the Viennese composers of this period, Schreker's dance pantomime Der Guburtstag der Infantine (story by Oscar Wilde) was given it's premiere in 1908 and was his first big success.