James Ehnes - Mythes | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

James Ehnes - Mythes
Artist: James Ehnes
Format: CD


Rel. Date: 06/30/2023
UPC: 880040423423

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Szymanowski: Mythes, Op. 30: I. La Fontaine D'arethuse
2. Szymanowski: Mythes, Op. 30: II. Narcisse
3. Szymanowski: Mythes, Op. 30: III. Dryades Et Pan
4. Handel: Violin Sonata in D, HWV 371
5. I. Affettuoso
6. II. Allegro
7. III. Larghetto
8. IV. Allegro
9. Howard, J N: 133... at Least
10. Tchaikovsky: Souvenir de Hapsal, Op. 2: No. 3, Chanson Sans Paroles (Arr. for Violin ; Piano By Fritz Kreisler)
11. Suk: 4 Pieces for Violin and Piano Op. 17: No. 4, Burleska
12. Paradis: Sicilienne (Formerly Attrib. Paradis)
13. Rimsky Korsakov: Flight of the Bumblebee (Arr. for Violin ; Piano By Jascha Heifetz)
14. Ponce, M: Estrellita (Arr. for Violin ; Piano By Jascha Heifetz)
15. Grainger: Molly on the Shore (Arr. for Violin ; Piano By Fritz Kreisler)

More Info:

Composed in 1915, Szymanowski's Mythes is a three movement work consisting of miniature tone poems based on Greek mythology. Late romantic and impressionist in style, the composer's travels to Sicily and north Africa without a doubt influenced the exotic and sumptuous sound world he created in this work. Mythes is the opening work on this eclectic recital album from James Ehnes and Andrew Armstrong that also features Handel's D major violin sonata - a once popular staple of the violin repertoire, now sadly seldom encountered. The album concludes with a selection of short and sparkly miniatures and encores. There are some old favorites here, as well as new, including James Newton Howard's "133... At least".