Leonard Elschenbroich - Brahms Analogue | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Brahms: Cello Sonata No.1 in Emin Op.38 - I Allegro Non Troppo
2. Brahms: Cello Sonata No.1 in Emin Op.38 - II Allegreeto Quasi Menuetto
3. Brahms: Cello Sonata No.1 in Emin Op.38 - III Allegro
4. Brahms: Cello Sonata No.2 in Fmaj Op.99 - I Allegro Vivace
5. Brahms: Cello Sonata No.2 in Fmaj Op.99 - II Adagio Affetuoso
6. Brahms: Cello Sonata No.2 in Fmaj Op.99 - III Allegro Passionato
7. Brahms: Cello Sonata No.2 in Fmaj Op.99 - IV Allegro Molto
8. Brahms: 4 Ernste Gesange - I Denn Es Gehet
9. Brahms: 4 Ernste Gesange - II Ich Wandte Mich
10. Brahms: 4 Ernste Gesange - III O Tod
11. Brahms: 4 Ernste Gesange - IV Wenn Ich Mitmenschen

More Info:

When the red light in Studio 2 at the famous Abbey Road Studios came on at the start of the recording sessions for Leonard Elschenbroich and Alexei Grynyuk's latest ONYX recording, the control room had a very different atmosphere. The recording was made using analogue technology - tape recorders, vintage microphones, and longer takes. At no point was the recorded material subjected to a digital process. Elschenbroich wanted to capture a specific sound for these sonatas; the recorded sound of the late 1950s and the 1960s was his goal. The result is a wonderfully intimate, warm yet clear sound, as if the musicians are actually in the room with the listener - not clinical, not a bright superficially impressive digital sound, but a sound that captures perfectly the best recorded sound of the golden years of the LP. Importantly, it is the sound by which the artist 'recognises' himself. As Elschenbroich writes in the notes 'the listener only needs one pair of ears and the music must come to life in their unique space".