Abbado, Claudio - Claudio Abbado Conducts Beethoven Symphonies (4pc) | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Claudio Abbado Conducts Beethoven Symphonies (4pc)
Artist: Abbado, Claudio
Format: Blu-Ray


Rel. Date: 02/25/2022
UPC: 880242573735

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Claudio Abbado Conducts Beethoven Symphonies 1, 6, 8
2. Claudio Abbado Conducts Beethoven Symphonies 2,5
3. Claudio Abbado Conducts Beethoven Symphonies 3 ; 9
4. Claudio Abbado Conducts Beethoven Symphonies 4 ; 7

More Info:

In February 2001, the Berliner Philharmoniker and Claudio Abbado were guests at the Accademia Nazionale di Santa Cecilia in Rome with all Beethoven symphonies. Their success was overwhelming with standing ovations after each performance, and the press hailed them performances of the century. For years, Claudio Abbado had been immersing himself ever deeper in the music of Beethoven. For his latest performances, he took the critical edition by the English musicologist Jonathan Del Mar. "I always try to see and feel the music anew," he explained. There were faster tempos and new tempo relationships between individual movements, compared with his earlier versions; a departure from the customary full string section; a lean, transparent orchestral sound, thrilling drama, spirited Italian brio, and at the same time sensitive lyrical and songful passages, all integral parts of Abbado's approach to the symphonies. This exclusive box containing the complete Beethoven Symphonies performed by the Berliner Philharmoniker includes a special multi-angle feature: each disc offers sequences from the "conductor camera" showing the maestro from his musicians perspective.