Various Artists - Soul Explosion [2LP] | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. Johnnie Taylor “Who’s Making Love”
2. Jimmy Hughes “Like Everything About You”
3. Booker T. & The MG’s “Hang ‘Em High”
4. Carla Thomas “Where Do I Go”
5. Eddie Floyd “I’ve Never Found A Girl (To Love Me Like You Do)”
6. Southwest F.O.B. “Smell Of Incense”
7. Albert King “Cold Feet”
8. Booker T. & The MG’s “Soul Limbo”
9. The Mad Lads “So Nice”
10. Eddie Floyd “Bring It On Home To Me”
11. William Bell & Judy Clay “Private Number”
12. The Staple Singers “Long Walk To D.C.”
13. Ollie & The Nightingales “I’ve Got A Sure Thing”
14. The Bar-Kays “Copy Kat”


1. Booker T. & The MG’s “Soul Clap ‘69”
2. The Staple Singers “Hear My Call”
3. Johnnie Taylor “Save Your Love For Me”
4. Jimmy Hughes “Peeped Around Yonder’s Bend”
5. Carla Thomas “Book Of Love”
6. The Mad Lads “These Old Memories”
7. Southwest F.O.B. “Mercy, Mercy, Mercy”
8. The Bar-Kays “Hot Hips”
9. Ollie & The Nightingales “Heartache Mountain”
10. Johnnie Taylor “Twenty Years From Today”
11. Eddie Floyd “It’s Wrong To Be Loving You”
12. Judy Clay “It’s Me”
13. Booker T. & The MG’s “Booker’s Theme”
14. Albert King “Left Hand Woman (Get Right With Me)”

More Info:

The Stax Soul Explosion 2-LP reissue celebrates the 50th anniversary of the Memphis label’s defining hits collection. Features powerful soul tracks like “Private Number” by Judy Clay & William Bell, “Who’s Making Love” by Johnnie Taylor and “I’ve Never Found A Girl (To Love Me Like You Do)” by Eddie Floyd. The set features 28 tracks, including chart-toppers and deeper cuts.

In 1968 Stax was working overtime to reinvent itself in the wake of Otis Redding's untimely December '67 passing and the dissolution of a deal with Atlantic Records that gave the label perpetual rights to Stax's back catalog. When the deal ended, Stax also lost one of their leading artists, Sam & Dave, who were signed to Atlantic, but released their music on Stax. Though Stax lost nearly all of the songs they had recorded from 1957 through 1968, they still had the talented musicians, songwriters and producers who had made them. Al Bell, who had just been promoted to Vice President of the label, quickly realized that Stax needed more than hits if they were going to survive. They needed to rebuild their back catalog. In 1969, Bell steered Stax into a prolific period of recording that united Stax’s creative forces in the common goal of getting the label back on its feet. This rebuilding phase was labeled the Soul Explosion. During this remarkable rebuilding phase, 30 singles and 27 albums were recorded in eight months.