Stan Getz - Stan Getz Quartets [Vinyl] | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top

RecordStore Day

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)


1. There's a Small Hotel
2. I've Got You Under My Skin
3. What's New?
4. Too Marvelous for Words
5. You Stepped Out of a Dream
6. My Old Flame
7. Long Island Sound
8. Indian Summer
9. Mar-Cia 1
10. Crazy Chords 1
11. The Lady in Red 1
12. Wrap Your Troubles in Dreams

More Info:

This 1950 date finds tenor saxophonist Stan Getz, nicknamed 'the Sound' for his warm, lyrical tone, grooving nimbly with a variety of backing musicians including pianist Al Haig, bassist Percy Heath, and drummer Roy Haynes. The influence of Lester Young's breathy approach on a young Getz is fully apparent here as Getz's phrasing drips with an exceedingly mellifluous tone throughout the set. Although Getz would go on to achieve worldwide fame for his smash-hit, 'The Girl From Ipanema,' here we see him honing his chops and developing his trademark sound on several ballad standards, including stellar versions of 'My Old Flame' and 'What's New.' A must-have for fans of cool jazz and an essential document in the development of one of the tenor greats, Stan Getz Quartets is now available on vinyl.