Various Artists - Wattstax: The Living Word [2LP] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Wattstax: The Living Word [2LP]
Artist: Various Artists
Format: Vinyl


Label: Concord / Craft Recordings / Sta
Rel. Date: 02/24/2023
UPC: 888072442177

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. The Staple Singers - Oh La De Da (4:56)
2. The Staple Singers - I Like The Things About You - The Staple Singers (6:04)
3. The Staple Singers - Respect Yourself (4:33)
4. The Staple Singers - I'll Take You There (5:25)
5. Eddie Floyd - Knock On Wood (3:34)
6. Eddie Floyd - Lay Your Loving On Me Live (5:05)
7. Carla Thomas - I Like What You're Doing (To Me) (3:32)
8. Carla Thomas - Gee Whiz (3:43)
9. Carla Thomas - I Have A God Who Loves (5:10)
10. Rufus Thomas - The Breakdown (4:05)
11. Rufus Thomas - Do The Funky Chicken (4:55)
12. Rufus Thomas - Do The Funky Penguin (5:50)


1. The Bar-Kays - Son Of Shaft / Feel It (11:00)
2. The Bar-Kays - I Can't Turn You Loose (4:00)
3. Albert King - Killing Floor (4:00)
4. Albert King - I'll Play The Blues For You (5:31)
5. Albert King - Angel Of Mercy (5:53)
6. The Soul Children - I Don't Know What This World Is Coming To (6:49)
7. The Soul Children – Hearsay (7:29)
8. Isaac Hayes - Ain't No Sunshine (17:37)

More Info:

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the iconic Wattstax event that took place at the L.A. Memorial Coliseum on 20th August 1972, Stax Records reissues “Wattstax: The Living Word”. These two LP’s are cut from the original tapes by Chris Muth and feature performances by Isaac Hayes, The Staple Singers, The Bar-Kays, Rufus Thomas, Carla Thomas, Albert King and more.