Schubert / Demske - Journey For One | RECORD STORE DAY

back to top


Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

These Indie stores carry most genres and you may want to also check with them

Store Distance Phone

Find a local store

(Please call first)

More Info:

In the nearly 200 years since it's composition for voice and piano, many have tackled Schubert's Winterreise. Steinway artist Hilary Demske, however, transforms the cycle into a series of works for solo piano on JOURNEY FOR ONE on Navona Records, focusing on the instrument's poignant ability to represent the original composition's lyricism and complexity. By freely experimenting with melodic fragments and manipulating the placement and length of gestures-along with translating the meaning of Müller's poetry to music-Demske adds a fresh, unique perspective to classic repertoire. The result is a refraction, rather than reflection, of Schubert's masterpiece that produces a series of works that go beyond simple reinterpretation and venture into the realm of complete reimagination.