Haines Haines - Notes [Limited Edition] [Download Included] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on RSDMRKT.com

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Preorder Now

Store Distance Phone Preorder

Find a local store


1. Love You More
2. Night Moves (Feat. Ruby Cesan)
3. Just Holdin' on (Feat. Eo)
4. Journey to the Peak
5. Brother of Mine (Feat. Vanessa Freeman)
6. Sleek
7. Come Into the Light (Feat. La Coco)
8. Storm (Feat. Rachel Clark)
9. Don't Think (Feat. Eo)
10. Running Man
11. Give Thanks (Feat. Arjuna Oakes ; Mark de Clive-Lowe)
12. Belo Dia (Feat. Rachel Clark)
13. Notes

More Info:

Renowned New Zealand musician Nathan Haines announces his eleventh studio album and first solo album since 2014. Nathan's vibrant career has solidified his status as a leading figure in contemporary jazz and electronic music, and throughout his career he has distinguished himself as a masterful saxophonist, flautist, and composer, celebrated for his innovative fusion of jazz with elements of soul, funk, and dance music. Notes maintains the jazz sound he is famed for, whilst also seeing the artist embrace the electronic/house and disco scene. A labour of love, work on the album started several years ago alongside the now deceased UK producer Phil Asher who had produced Nathan's two most successful albums Sound Travels and Squire For Hire. Regarded as one of the finest DJ's and producers to emerge from the UK, playing a pivotal role in bridging the gap between 4/4 and broken beat, this was the first time Nathan and Phil had worked together in over eighteen years. Phil passed away during the recording of the album, but he appears on a number of tracks, and his spirit and influence can be felt throughout the entire release. The album features a number of guest vocalists, including UK soul-diva Vanessa Freeman (Bugz In The Attic, 4 Hero, Kaidi Tatham, Kyoto Jazz Massive), and exciting young talent Ajuna Oakes, Ruby Cesan, La Coco and EO (NZ). Alongside Nathan's own musicianship, the album also features bass from Razor-N-Tape label founder Jkriv and electronic jazz pioneer Mark de Clive-Lowe, with both bringing a wealth of collaboration and musicality to the project. Long time collaborator and much respected UK based producer Marc Mac (one half the highly influential and respected duo 4Hero) provides beats for a number alongside Nathan's father Kevin on acoustic bass. Highly respected DJ and producer Frank Booker (Razor and Tape) drops his signature beats on three tracks which fits nicely alongside Asher's drum work. The album's one cover see's Nathan teaming up with vocalist Rachel Clarke on their version of Storm by US 80's vocal group Rare Silk - this track is entirely acoustic and is one of the album's special moments both artistically and musically. The past years have seen Haines continuing to establish himself as one of NZ's best DJs and live performers, working on releases and remixes with the likes of Chaos in the CBD, Frank Booker, JKriv, Ray Mang and many others. He has also just released a solo album on Goldie's Metalheadz label under his Sci-clone alias co-produced with DJ A-Sides to excellent reviews and featuring a wealth of talent and musicianship.