Pernice Brothers - Overcome By Happiness: 25th Anniversary Edition [Orange and White Splatter 2LP] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

Pernice Brothers - Overcome By Happiness: 25th Anniversary Edition [Orange and White Splatter 2LP]
Overcome By Happiness: 25th Anniversary Edition [Orange and White Splatter 2LP]
Artist: Pernice Brothers
Format: Vinyl


Label: New West Records
Rel. Date: 05/19/2023
UPC: 607396570812

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Crestfallen
2. Overcome by Happiness
3. Sick of You
4. Clear Spot
5. Dimmest Star
6. Monkey Suit
7. Chicken Wire
8. Wait to Stop
9. All I Know
10. Shoes and Clothes
11. Wherein Obscurely
12. Ferris Wheel


1. Jimmy Coma (1997 Sub Pop Single)
2. Monkey Suit (1997 Sub Pop Single)
3. Square World (1997 Summershine Single)
4. In Plain Sight (1997 Summershine Single)
5. Love My Way (Psychedelic Furs Cover / Clear Spot UK CD Single B-Side)
6. Sick of You (Earliest Sketch Demo)
7. Cut You Free (Demo)
8. Overcome by Happiness (Earliest Sketch Demo)
9. Clear Spot (Earliest Sketch Demo)
10. Dimmest Star (Earliest Sketch Demo)
11. Song #2 (The Queen of NYC) (Earliest Demo)
12. Courage Up (Demo)
13. Let That Show (Demo)

More Info:

ďYou donít want your stuff to vanish,Ē says Joe Perniceabout the twenty-fifth anniversary reissue of Overcome By Happiness. ďNot that Iím looking to get famous, but you need to connect with the world. Thereís something that reaffirms your own life in that echo that comes back to youóeven if itís your own voice coming back.

ĒThe story of Overcome By Happinessis one of great risk and greater payoff. Itís the story of a disgruntled country singer struggling to define himself against prevailing musical trends. Itís the story of a songwriter just finding his voice, an artist so desperate to express himself that he scrapped one band to form another, risking his record contract and arguably his career to put the sounds he heard in his head onto tape. Itís the story of a musician embracing the sounds of his childhood: AM easy listening, sophisticated chamber pop, baroque lounge music, Bread, the Carpenters, Bacharach, Manilow. Itís the story of a poet driving through Massachusetts in a rusted-out Bonneville with a wooden bumper.

This time has come for this story to be told on vinyl. Released 25 years later to the day, New West Records is proud to present the remastered 25th anniversary edition of Overcome By Happinesson vinyl. This release features two orange and white splatter LPs held by thumb notch sleeves inside of a hardback book gatefold. The album audio also includes a 13 Track Bonus LP featuring 8 Previously Unreleased Demo Recordings The package features a 52-page book showcasing extensive liner notes, printed lyrics, forward and track by track written by Joe Pernice as well as previously unseen photographs. Each copy comes with a 5x7 autographed print.