Jimmy Sweeney - Without You [RSD Drops Sep 2020] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online

Purchase digitally now from recordstoreday.com (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. Without You - Jimmy Sweeney
2. Deep Blues - Jimmy Sweeney and the Varieteers
3. I Pay with Every Breath - Jimmy Sweeney and the Varieteers
4. It Wouldn't Be the Same (Without You) - the Varieteers
5. Desire - Jimmy Sweeney
6. Danny Boy - Jimmy Destry
7. Don't Come in Here - Varieteers
8. Tobacco Road - Jimmy Sweeney
9. Gonna Find My Sweetheart - Jimmy Sweeney
10. Flippity Flop - Jimmy Sweeney
11. Sick, Sick, Sick - Jim Sweeney
12. She Wears My Ring - Jimmy Bell
13. Where You Lead Me - Jim Sweeney
14. Lunch in a Bucket - Jimmy Bell
15. Afraid - Jim Sweeney
16. What'cha Gonna Do About Me - Jimmy Bell
17. Deacon Brown - Jimmy Sweeney

More Info:

RSD Exclusive - Sep

The story of this compilation begins with a decades old myth; the "mystery singer" on a 10" acetate demo played to Elvis by Sam Phillips in June of 1954. Phillips, who was unable to ascertain the name of the singer, asked Elvis to sing the song as a debut record. The young, unknown Elvis was daunted by the performance. After attempting to record the song, Elvis felt he could not do it justice, and went on to record “That's All Right”. The demo's existence became an urban myth. The singer was finally identified as Jimmy Sweeney in early 2017 by writer Chris Kennedy, whose suspicions were confirmed by multiple sources, including Jimmy's daughter Eugenia. Sweeney’s masterpiece will finally be released under his own name on this compilation. In addition to  that demo song, “Without You”, the album features some of Sweeney’s best recordings, many of which were never released to the public.

1. “Without You” - Jimmy Sweeney 2. “Deep Blues” - Jimmy Sweeney and the Varieteers 3. “I Pay With Every Breath” - Jimmy Sweeney and the Varieteers 4. “It Wouldn’t Be The Same (Without You) “- The Varieteers 5. “Desire” - Jimmy Sweeney 6. “Danny Boy” - Jimmy Destry 7. “Don’t Come In Here” – Varieteers 8. “Tobacco Road” - Jimmy Sweeney
1. “Gonna Find My Sweetheart “- Jimmy Sweeney 2. “Flippity Flop”- Jimmy Sweeney 3. “Sick, Sick, Sick” - Jim Sweeney 4. “She Wears My Ring” - Jimmy Bell 5. “Where You Lead Me” - Jim Sweeney 6.”Lunch In A Bucket” - Jimmy Bell 7. “Afraid” - Jim Sweeney 8. “What’cha Gonna Do About Me” - Jimmy Bell 9. “Deacon Brown” - Jimmy Sweeney