Jerry Garcia & David Grisman - So What [RSD Black Friday 2023] | RECORD STORE DAY

Thank you for choosing to buy locally from a record store!

You can explore 3 ways to buy:

Find and visit a Local Record Store and get phone number and directions (call first, there is no guarantee which products may be in stock locally)

Purchase now from a local store that sells online or when available from an indie store on

Purchase digitally now from (which serves local record stores)

Buy Now

also available now on RSDMRKT.COM

Store Distance Phone Buy

Find a local store


1. So What (Take 1,3/8/91)
2. Bag's Groove (Take 5,11/24/92)
3. Milestones (Take 5,6/2/92)
4. 16/16 (Take 3,11/24/92)
5. So What (Take 1,12/6/90)
6. Bag's Groove (Take 1,6/4/92)
7. Milestones (Take 3,6/2/92)
8. So What (Take 1,6/4/92)

More Info:

So What is an acoustic jazz album by Jerry Garcia and mandolinist David Grisman, originally released on Grisman's Acoustic Disc label in August 1998. Garcia and Grisman were friends and collaborators for over three decades, with Grisman’s playing famously featured on the classic Grateful Dead album American Beauty. Joined by sidemen from Grisman's regular band (bassist Jim Kerwin, Joe Craven on percussion, and, on two numbers, flutist Matt Eakle), the co-leaders perform three versions of Miles Davis' "So What," two of apiece of Milt Jackson’s "Bag's Groove” and Davis' "Milestones," and one of Grisman's "16/16.” A rare opportunity to hear Garcia playing straight-ahead jazz music, a genre which he loved but rarely performed. The album is finally coming to vinyl for its 25th anniversary with a double LP, including two bonus tracks, housed in a gatefold jacket with original artwork from Garcia himself.

A1 So What (Take 1, 3/8/91)
A2 Bag's Groove (Take 5, 11/24/92)
B1 Milestones (Take 5, 6/2/92)
B2 16/16 (Take 3, 11/24/92)
B3 So What (Take 1, 12/6/90)
C1 Bag's Groove (Take 1, 6/4/92)
C2 Milestones (Take 3, 6/2/92)
D1 So What (Take 1, 6/4/92)
D2 Grateful Dawg (Alternate Take)
D3 Dawg’s Waltz (Alternate Take)